I’m Back!

Ok, it has been to long since I last posted and I thank those few people who asked If I had suffered a Segmentation Violation or something.

By means of a brief explanation, I changed jobs last summer, going back to a previous employer in a very different role than what I’ve ever had before. It was a challenging and difficult and one that I had minimal success at but, in the end, didn’t work out. Mostly because I wasn’t a good fit for a variety of reasons including, not surprisingly, geography!  I was mostly tele-commuting because the office was two hours away. I really needed to be in the office more than I was and I wasn’t in a position to relocate.

During my time with that employer I was doing less technical stuff and just did not feel the urgency to be blogging.

I’ve left that job (which was very hard to do because I felt like I was abandoning friends) and have a short-term gig with the employer I left in the summer which will be almost entirely technical work, so I hope to crank out some more technical blog posts.

Also, I’m hoping to shift my career focus somewhat. I’ve been somewhat stuck as a desktop guy–developing mostly desktop applications.  I’ve wanted to do more web development stuff but never made the switch. I’m hoping to build my web skills in the short-term and have been cramming on topics like Java, HTML5, CSS, Map Server, Geo Server, php, jQuery, and anything else that might enhance my web-abilities.

So expect some changes to the blog and I thank everyone who comes to the blog, while the numbers aren’t huge, I am still surprised at how many people find their way here.

One thought on “I’m Back!

  1. Welcome back! Seeing this post might inspire me to finally begin posting again to my blog as well. We’ll see.

    Best wishes with the switch. Looking forward to seeing more great posts.

Leave a Reply

